Global Meditation & Prayer
January 23, 1997

Imagine people all over the world sharing a moment of meditation and prayer, a moment of unified global consciousness when people from the world's many diverse spiritual traditions simultaneously focus attention on our interconnected relationship with Gaia - the living earth. Each person bringing love, compassion and understanding to embrace the possibility of healing the social, ecological and spiritual challenges before us. As we approach the dawn of the new millennium, increasingly aware of our interdependence, we may choose to join together as a global community in such a moment to catalyze planetary transformation by both envisioning the light and facing the darkness of our times.

Earth-brain composite image

What influence could millions of people joined in simultaneous meditation and prayer have on the future? Is it possible that we can intentionally advance the evolution of global consciousness? Many have speculated about such questions, and research suggests that large scale meditations have had demonstrable effects on other areas of human affairs, but how might we choose a time to explore this in unison?

On January 23, 1997 there will be an exceedingly rare and archetypally appropriate planetary alignment, a moment in time expressed in the heavens as a perfect six-pointed star. This pattern comes on the exact day that three outer planets, Jupiter, Uranus and Neptune are conjoined together for the first time in almost two hundred years. Not since the Renaissance have all five outer-most planets been so harmoniously arrayed. On January 23rd, this cluster of planets will center on the first degrees of Aquarius, joined by the Sun, with the Full Moon opposite them all. Thus, perhaps this pattern may also be a symbolic representation of the long heralded dawning of the Age of Aquarius.

Simultaneous Global Meditation - 17:30 to 17:35 Greenwich Mean Time

12:30-12:35pm EST = 11:30-11:35am CST = 10:30-10:35am MST = 9:30-9:35am PST

May we envision GaiaMind, in unison, in time.

hexagonal astrological chart

January 23, 1997 - 12:35 p.m. EST in New York

Planetary Alignment

The geometric perfection of this astrological pattern serves as a symbol of a unique moment of opportunity, a day on which people all over the world may come together to participate in an intentional expression of the emergent unified planetary consciousness -- to affirm that we are all one. Through shared intention we may move toward the emergence of a new planetary awareness, perhaps toward a noosphere of GaiaMind. White light seems to be the most universal archetype imaginable. Envisioning light together in unison may be the most effective way to bring all of our individual minds into resonance. We invite you to participate in this experiment in collective intention and share a moment of meditation and prayer for the healing transformation of the Earth.


The GaiaMind Project - 20 Sunnyside, Box A325, Mill Valley, CA 94941, USA - Earth

Starting January 23rd 1997, look for the ongoing evolution of the GaiaMind Project at:

also check out:

This site at will remain unchanged as an archive and monument to the Global Meditation and Prayer on January 23rd

Click Here to Register
Your Participation on January 23rd

Main Menu

Last Modified - January 27, 1997

CNN ran a 2 minute segment on the GaiaMind Global Meditation on the 23rd


This Page Has Been Hit: Times Since Jan. 1, 1997

Earth image data provided by: The Living Earth


The GaiaMind Project
© 1996 The Gaiamind Project